Sven Jakstat

Juan de Roelas, Die Maria Immaculata mit dem Jesuitenpater Fernando de Mata, 1612/13, Gemäldegalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Foto: Volker-H. Schneider

Sven Jakstat

Researcher

Research Project

The aesthetics of early modern altarpieces in the Iberian Peninsula in the context of the creation of catholic identity

Spanish altarpieces impress with their monumentality and complexity. Mostly they cover the entire wall behind the altar. In elaborate frameworks, which are precisely aligned to the existing church architecture, not only paintings and sculptures, but also different types of images (as e.g. narrative and iconic images) are combined and juxtaposed. By making these kinds of differences and relations visible, altarpieces could convey theological content by way of a conscious perception process. The thus obtained visual effects offer a significant insight in the structures and processes involved in the generation of evidence.

Based on significant examples of the 16th and 17th centuries, it is the principle aim of this study to determine the particular correlation between altarpiece and ritual, such as the celebration of the mass in front of the altar, as well as to investigate the interaction of altarpiece and audience in the church space. Furthermore, the project investigates the question to what extend distinct intentions were connected with the choice of the medium as well as the choice of a particular style.

 

Profile

SSven Jakstat studied Art History and History in Berlin and Madrid. 2008: MA in Art History at the Freie Universität Berlin (Topic of the Master Thesis: “The Immaculata Conceptio in the work of El Greco. Function, meaning and development of a pictorial subject within the historical context of the Catholic Reformation in Spain”). 2009-2012: PhD Scholarship by the Gerda Henkel Stiftung. 2012-2013: Editor at the Goethe-Institut Madrid. 2013-2016: Curatorial Assistant at the Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin for the exhibition “El Siglo de Oro. The Age of Velázquez”. 2013-2014: Assistant Lecturer at the Universität der Künste Berlin. 2016: PhD in Art History at the Freie Universität Berlin (Topic of the PhD: “The altarpieces by Pedro Berruguete and his contemporaries. Function and meaning of the appropriation of foreign visual cultures”). Since August 2016: postdoctoral researcher at the Center for Advances Studies BildEvidenz.

Research Interests

  • Spanish Art History
  • Altarpieces
  • Processes of Transcultural Appropriation

Publications

Catalogue entries, in: Exh. Cat.: El Siglo de Oro. The Age of Velázquez, Berlin / München: 2016, pp. 88-89, 92-93, 100-105, 108-109, 126-127, 130-131, 134-135, 158-159, 178-179, 182-185, 188-189, 212-213, 238-241, 244-245, 254-257, 264-265, 292-293 (german: El Siglo de Oro. Die Ära Velázquez)

„Postkartensounds“, in: Exh. Cat.: Cumuli – Zum Sammeln der Dinge / On Collecting Things, Berlin: 2013, S. 32f.

 

Contakt

Sven Jakstat

Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-838-61431

sjakstat@zedat.fu-berlin.de

Homepage at the KHI of the FU

Sven Jakstat

Juan de Roelas, Die Maria Immaculata mit dem Jesuitenpater Fernando de Mata, 1612/13, Gemäldegalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Foto: Volker-H. Schneider

Sven Jakstat

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Forschungsprojekt

Die Ästhetik frühneuzeitlicher Altarbilder auf der Iberischen Halbinsel im Kontext katholischer Identitätsbildung

 

Spanische Altarbilder beeindrucken durch ihre Monumentalität und Komplexität. Nicht selten überspannen sie die gesamte Wandfläche hinter dem Altar. In aufwendig gestalteten und präzise auf die vorhandene Kirchenarchitektur abgestimmten Rahmenstrukturen sind zumeist Gemälde und Skulpturen, aber auch narrative und ikonische Bildtypen miteinander vereint und einander gegenübergestellt. Durch die auf diese Weise zur Anschauung gebrachten Differenzierungen und Relationen, werden theologische Inhalte in einem bewussten Wahrnehmungsprozess erfahrbar gemacht. Die durch auf diese Weise erzielten und bisher kaum erforschten „Evidenzeffekte“ bieten im Hinblick auf die für die Kolleg-Forschergruppe zentrale Frage nach „den Strukturen und Verfahren bildlicher Evidenzerzeugung“ ein erhebliches Erkenntnispotential.

Anhand von aussagekräftigen Beispielen des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts soll das Verhältnis der Altarbilder zu den am Altar vollzogenen rituellen Handlungen analysiert, und deren Interaktion mit dem im Kirchenraum anwesenden Publikum untersucht werden. Im Fokus steht dabei auch die Frage, inwiefern mit der Wahl eines spezifischen Darstellungsmediums wie auch mit der Entscheidung für einen bestimmten Stil konkrete Intentionen verbunden waren.

Vita

Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Geschichte an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Universidad Complutense in Madrid. 2008 Magisterabschluss an der Freien Universität Berlin (Titel der Magisterarbeit: „Die Immaculata Conceptio im Werk El Grecos. Funktion, Bedeutung und Entwicklung eines Bildsujets im Kontext der katholischen Reform in Spanien“). 2009-2012 Promotionsstipendium der Gerda Henkel Stiftung. 2012-2013 Redakteur am Goethe-Institut Madrid. 2013-2016 Volontär und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin im Ausstellungsprojekt „El Siglo de Oro. Die Ära Velázquez“. 2013-2014 Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität der Künste Berlin. 2016 Promotion in Kunstgeschichte an der Freien Universität Berlin (Titel der Dissertation: „Die Altarbilder Pedro Berruguetes und seiner Zeitgenossen. Funktion und Bedeutung der Aneignung »fremder« Bildkulturen“). Seit August 2016 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Spanische Kunstgeschichte
  • Altarbilder
  • Transkulturelle Aneignungsprozesse

Publikationen

Div. Katalogeinträge, in: Ausst.-Kat.: El Siglo de Oro. Die Ära Velázquez, Berlin u. München: 2016, S. 88f., 92f., 100-105, 108f., 126f., 130f., 134f., 158f., 178f., 182-185, 188f., 212f., 238-241, 244f., 254-257, 264f., 292f. (engl.: El Siglo de Oro. The Age of Velázquez)

„Postkartensounds“, in: Ausst.-Kat.: Cumuli – Zum Sammeln der Dinge / On Collecting Things, Berlin: 2013, S. 32f.

Kontakt

Sven Jakstat

Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-838-61431

sjakstat@zedat.fu-berlin.de

Homepage am KHI