Robert Kehl

Robert Kehl M.A.

Doctoral Researcher

Research Project

History as Art—Document, Relics, and Witness in Art Since 1980

 

One main consequence of the concept of cultural memory is the de-centering of historiography with respect to its grasp of the past. History, according to this concept, is a conventional outcome of processes of negotiation within numerous social fields, whose vanishing point of conflicts and needs is always their own present-day. The modern postulate of artistic autonomy—in either a functional or a formal-aesthetic sense—presupposes this view, by virtue of the diverse, posited differences of art: the maxims, for instance, of scientific objectivity, of logical rigor, of historiographic factual accuracy, of the strict differentiation between reality and fiction, and so on, should no longer be conceded authority and historical events often only come into play by implication. But how, then, can such art claim supra-subjective relevance? What is history, as art?

The intention of this doctoral project is to concretize this question in two ways: firstly, the focus on contemporary artistic strategies concerning the treatment of documents, witness, and relics constitutes a test case that will make it possible to measure the distance to historiography (for the latter are its prime objects). Secondly, artistic engagement with National Socialism and the Shoah will form the fulcrum of the work, because it is precisely in this connection that art is (or is not) believed to have particular representational capacities.

Profile

Robert Kehl studied Art History, Gender Studies and Philosophy at the Freie Universität, Berlin, the Humboldt-Universität, Berlin, and at the Università La Sapienza in Rome; his MA thesis was on processes of historical reference in the painting of Luc Tuymans. 2006–11: Staff member at Visitor Service at the Jewish Museum Berlin. 2010–12: Student assistant at the Chair of the Art of Africa (Prof. Dr. Tobias Wendl) and at the research project “Medialisierungen der Aktionskunst von Joseph Beuys” (Prof. Dr. Klaus Krüger / Dr. Matthias Weiß). Since July 2012: Doctoral researcher at the Centre for Advances Studies BildEvidenz.

Research Interests

  • History and memory in contemporary art
  • The performative art of Joseph Beuys
  • The genesis of the autonomous portrait in the early modern period

 

Contact

Robert Kehl

Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Room 109
Tel.: +49(0)30-838-57638

robert.kehl@fu-berlin.de

Robert Kehl

Robert Kehl M.A.

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Forschungsprojekt

Geschichte als Kunst – Dokument, Relikt und Zeugnis in der Kunst seit 1980

 

Eine zentrale Konsequenz des kulturwissenschaftlichen Gedächtnisbegriffs ist eine Dezentrierung der Geschichtswissenschaft hinsichtlich des Zugriffs auf Vergangenheit. Geschichte gilt ihm als konventionales Ergebnis von Aushandlungsprozessen innerhalb vieler gesellschaftlicher Felder, deren Fluchtpunkt die Konflikte und Bedürfnisse der jeweiligen Gegenwart sind. Das moderne Postulat der künstlerischen Autonomie, sei diese funktional oder formal-ästhetisch verstanden, fordert diese Perspektive durch die vielfältigen Differenzsetzungen der Kunst ein: Die Maximen etwa der wissenschaftlichen Objektivität, der logischen Stringenz, historiografischer Faktentreue, der strengen Unterscheidung von Realität und Fiktion usw. sollen hier keine Autorität mehr beanspruchen dürfen und historische Ereignisse kommen oft nur andeutungshaft ins Spiel. Wie aber kann Geschichtskunst dann übersubjektive Relevanz reklamieren? Was ist Geschichte, als Kunst?

Das Dissertationsprojekt möchte diese Leitfrage auf zweifache Weise konkretisieren: erstens liegt im Fokus auf zeitgenössische künstlerische Strategien um Umgang mit Dokumenten, Zeugnissen und Relikten ein Testfall vor, an dem sich der Abstand zur Geschichtswissenschaft ermessen lässt (denn ebenjene sind ihre vorrangigen Gegenstände). Zweitens sollen künstlerischen Auseinandersetzungen mit Nationalsozialismus und Shoah Zentrum und Angelpunkt der Arbeit sein, weil gerade hier der Kunst besondere Darstellungsvermögen zu- bzw. abgesprochen worden sind.

Vita

Magisterstudium der Kunstgeschichte, Gender Studies und Philosophie an der Freien Universität und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin sowie der Università La Sapienza in Rom, beendet mit einer Abschlussarbeit über Verfahren des Geschichtsbezugs in der Malerei Luc Tuymans’. 2006-2011 Tätigkeit beim Besucherservice des Jüdischen Museums Berlin. 2010-2012 studentische Hilfskraft am Lehrstuhl für Kunst Afrikas (Prof. Dr. Tobias Wendl) sowie beim am Forschungsprojekt „Medialisierungen der Aktionskunst von Joseph Beuys“ (Prof. Dr. Klaus Krüger / Dr. Matthias Weiß). Seit Juli 2012 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Geschichte und Erinnerung in zeitgenössischer Kunst
  • Die Aktionskunst Joseph Beuys’
  • Die Entstehung des autonomen Porträts der Frühen Neuzeit

 

Kontakt

Robert Kehl

Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Zimmer 109
Tel.: +49(0)30-838-57638

robert.kehl@fu-berlin.de