Katja Müller-Helle

Geöffneter Geigenkorpus, Geigenbauwerstatt Bölli, Wien

Opened violine corpus, violin workshop Bölli, Vienna

Dr. Katja Müller-Helle

Postdoctoral Researcher

Research Project

Orchestrated Destruction—Transgressions of Avant-Garde Culture

 

Rebellion, transgression, and scandals are the normal conditions of avant-garde culture. The jarring sequence of events that saw everything—from paintings to museums—coming under attack, not only staked out the battlefield of artistic autonomy, it also set the theorems of the avant-garde, such as art’s release into daily life or the transgression of the boundaries of the art object in social praxis. These theorems will be analyzed on the basis of an extreme case where transgression becomes destruction—that is to say, the demolition of musical instruments in avant-garde culture.

When Nam June Paik, Arman, or Philip Corner destroyed classical instruments in rigorously composed actions, with the later prospect of their demonstrating this transgression in musealized relics, and when these are subjected to theoretical, historiographic classification as objects of transgression, the project of material destruction becomes a complex process of Evidenz-creation involving object, picture, notation and museum. In practices of destruction, misuse, reframing, and recombination musical instruments are treated as material repositories of culture; at the same time, as vehicles for affect, anti-bourgeois critique, or transgressive states of consciousness, they become part of a history of theory of excess.

Accordingly, this research project does not make the presumption that Evidenz is simply given, as an anthropological constant. The production of Evidenz is understood here as a process by which objects—in the moment of their destruction­—become their own anti-image and, in their subsequent documentation, musealization, and theoretization, illuminate processes of Evidenz-creation, which is seen in a whole spectrum of events, from the smashing of the tail-piece of a guitar to its reinterpretation as a theoretical figure of transgression.

Profile

Dr. Katja Müller-Helle studied Art History and German Philology in Bonn, London (UCL), and Berlin. 2002: Intern at the Department of Prints and Drawings of the British Museum, London. 2005: Research at the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence (Max Planck). 2006: MA in Art History at the Humboldt-Universität, Berlin. 2007–10: PhD research fellowship at the research group “Senses—Technology—Mise-en-Scene” at the University of Vienna. 2009: Research at the History of Art Department at Columbia University, New York. 2010–12: Research scholar at the Department for Art History, Freie Universität, Berlin, Chair of Prof. Dr. Peter Geimer. 2012: Prize for art criticism awarded by C/O-Berlin—International Forum For Visual Dialogues (Talents 29). 2012: PhD (summa cum laude) awarded by the Institut für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte at the Humboldt-Universität, Berlin; dissertation: “Fotografische Zeitspeicher. Eine Imaginationsgeschichte der Bewegungsfotografie bei Auguste Chevallier, Camille Flammarion und Anton Giulio Bragaglia.” Since January 2013: Postdoctoral researcher at the Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz. From December 2014 till August 2015 and from January till March 2018 Fellowship at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles.

Research Interests

  • History and theory of photography
  • Historiography of early movement photography
  • History of the theory of pictorial imagination
  • Destruction art

Publications

Transgression als Passion. Akustische (Selbst-)Überschreitungen in Kunst und Popkultur seit 1960, in: Verhaltensdesign. Technologische und ästhetische Programme der 1960er und 1970er Jahre, hrsg. von Jeannie Moser und Christina Vagt, Bielefeld: transcript 2018, S. 25-39.
Online abrufbar unter: https://www.transcript-verlag.de/978-3-8376-4206-3/verhaltensdesign/

Black Box Photography, in: PhotoResearcher, Journal of the European Society for the History of Photography, Nr. 29, 2018, S. 24-33.

Zeitspeicher der Fotografie. Zukunftsbilder 1860-1913, Paderborn: Wilhelm Fink 2017.

Review in: CAA Reviews, April 10, 2018: http://caareviews.org/reviews/3191#.W6k9qlKLlE5 Medienwissenschaft: Rezensionen, Nr. 2-3, 2018: https://archiv.ub.uni-marburg.de/ep/0002/article/view/7880/7682 r:k:m-Journal, 9. Februar 2018: http://www.rkm-journal.de/archives/20971

Trick 17. Mediengeschichten zwischen Zauberkunst und Wissenschaft, Lüneburg: Meson Press 2016. (with Jan Müggenburg, Florian Sprenger and Sebastian Vehlken)

→ Complete list of publications

Current

Buchpräsentation von Katja Müller-Helle und Eva Wilson „The Legacy of Transgressive Objects“ (August Verlag) auf der „Friends with Books“ im Hamburger Bahnhof, 20.10. um 13:00: https://www.friendswithbooks.org/content/are-youfriends-books-public-programmes-2018
Link zum Buch: http://www.augustverlag.de/de/catalog/legacy-transgressive-objects/

Contact

Katja Müller-Helle

Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-838-50952

katja.mueller-helle@fu-berlin.de

Homepage am KHI

Image credit: Archive Katja Müller-Helle

Katja Müller-Helle

Geöffneter Geigenkorpus, Geigenbauwerkstatt Bölli, Wien

Geöffneter Geigenkorpus, Geigenbauwerkstatt Bölli, Wien

Dr. Katja Müller-Helle

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Forschungsprojekt

Orchestrierte Zerstörung – Transgressionen der Avantgarde

 

Traditionsbruch, Transgression, Skandal sind nicht die Spezial- sondern die Normalfälle der künstlerischen Avantgarden des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die schrille Abfolge von Ereignissen, in denen vom Bild bis zum Museum alles zum Medium der Attacke werden kann, bestimmt nicht nur den Kampfplatz der künstlerischen Autonomie, sondern formiert gleichzeitig Denkfiguren einer Theorie der Avantgarde, wie die der Entgrenzung der Kunst ins Leben oder der Auflösung der Grenzen des Kunstobjektes in der sozialen Praxis.

Diese Denkfiguren der Transgression sollen anhand eines Extremfalls der Entgrenzung, der Zerstörung von Musikinstrumenten in der Avantgardekultur, mit Blick auf konkrete Objekte, Bilder und Notationen analysiert werden.

Wenn Nam June Paik, Arman oder Philip Corner klassische Instrumente in streng komponierten Aktionen zerstören, sie später als musealisierte Reliquien eine nachträgliche Schau der Transgression versprechen und in ihrer historiografischen Einordnung als Objekte der Entgrenzung theoretisiert werden, wird das Projekt der materiellen Zerstörung zum vielteiligen Prozess einer Evidenzerzeugung zwischen Objekt, Bild und Ausstellung. In Praktiken der Zerstörung, Fehlnutzung, Umdeutung und Rekombination werden die Musikinstrumente als materielle Speicher von Kultur behandelt und gehen gleichzeitig als Träger von Affekten, antibürgerlicher Kritik oder transgressiven Bewusstseinszuständen in eine Theoriegeschichte der Überschreitung ein.

Das Forschungsprojekt geht demnach nicht davon aus, dass Evidenz als anthropologische Konstante einfach gegeben ist. Evidenzproduktion wird als Prozess begriffen, in dem Objekte im Moment der Zerstörung zum Gegen-Bild werden und in ihrer nachträglichen Dokumentation, Musealisierung und Theoretisierung Verfahren der Evidenzerzeugung aufscheinen lassen, die es vom zertrümmerten Saitenhalter einer Gitarre bis zu seiner Umdeutung als theoretische Transgressionsfigur aufzuspüren gilt.

Vita

Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Deutschen Philologie in Bonn, London (UCL) und Berlin. 2002 Volontärin am Department for Prints and Drawings des British Museum London. 2005 Forschungsaufenthalt am Kunsthistorischen Institut in Florenz (Max-Planck). 2006 Magisterabschluss in Kunstgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. 2007-2010 Promotionsstipendium am Graduiertenkolleg „Sinne – Technik – Inszenierung“ der Universität Wien. 2009 Forschungsaufenthalt am History of Art Department der Columbia University New York. 2010-2012 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Kunsthistorischen Institut der Freien Universität Berlin, Lehrstuhl Prof. Dr. Peter Geimer. 2012 Preis für Kunstkritik von C/O-Berlin – International Forum For Visual Dialogues (Talents 29). 2012 Promotion am Institut für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Thema: Fotografische Zeitspeicher. Eine Imaginationsgeschichte der Bewegungsfotografie bei Auguste Chevallier, Camille Flammarion und Anton Giulio Bragaglia (summa cum laude). Seit Januar 2013 Postdoc-Mitarbeiterin der Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz. Von Dezember 2014 bis August 2015 Fellow am Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Geschichte und Theorie der Fotografie
  • Historiografie der frühen Bewegungsfotografie
  • Theoriegeschichte der bildlichen Imagination
  • Destruktionskunst

Publikationen

Zeitspeicher der Fotografie. Zukunftsbilder 1860-1913, Paderborn: Wilhelm Fink 2017.

Trick 17. Mediengeschichten zwischen Zauberkunst und Wissenschaft, Lüneburg: Meson Press 2016. (zusammen mit Jan Müggenburg, Florian Sprenger und Sebastian Vehlken)

The Past Future of Futurist Movement Photography, in: The Getty Research Journal, Nr. 7, 2015, S. 109-23.

Stumme Zeugen. Fotografische Bildevidenz am Rand der Wahrscheinlichkeit, in: Zeitschrift für Medienwissenschaft, Nr. 11, 2/2014, S. 37-48.

→ Gesamtliste der Veröffentlichungen

 

Kontakt

Katja Müller-Helle

Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-838-50952

katja.mueller-helle@fu-berlin.de

Homepage am KHI

Bildnachweis: Archiv Katja Müller-Helle