Johanna Schiffler

 

Johanna Schiffler, M.A.

Researcher

Research Project

Landscape painting around the year 1900

Around the year 1900, artists such as Ferdinand Hodler, Adolph Hölzel, Gustav Klimt, Piet Mondrian and Felix Valloton created pictures in which space in the landscape was no longer organised by a central perspective, but rather decoratively as an ornamental and rhythmic interaction of colour and form elements. This doctoral project is dedicated to landscape painting at the turn of the century, with the aim of examining, for the first time, the mediating function of the various techniques of decorative formalisation—thus far regarded by research mainly in terms of the development in modernist abstract painting of an auto-reflexive production of meaning—in relation to the dynamic and subjectively experienced perception of landscape and thus also in relation to the historical context in terms of the image and culture, as well as the contemporaneous discourse around theories of perception.

Profile

Johanna Schiffler studied History of Art and Modern German Literature at EHESS in Paris and at Humboldt-University in Berlin. In 2009/10 she completed an internship at the Centre Allemand d’Histoire de l’Art in Paris. Her master’s thesis in 2013 was on the drawings of Victor Hugo as influenced by ancient image theory and the natural philosophy of Lukrez. From 2011 to 2013 she was a student research assistant and scholarship holder at the Collegium for the Advanced Studies of “Picture Act and Embodiment”. From 2013 to 2015 she was a member of the research project “Ikonische Formprozesse”, Institute of Art and Visual Studies, Humboldt-University and from 2014 to 2016, a research scholar at the Cluster of Excellence “Image Knowledge Form. An Interdisciplinary Laboratory”, Berlin. In 2015/16 she lectured at the Technische Universität Berlin. Johanna Schiffler has been a researcher at the Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz since 2016 and is a visiting scholar at the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University, in the autumn of that year.

Research Interests

  • painting and drawing in the nineteenth and early twentieth century
  • history of the landscape genre
  • history of the theories of perception, especially psychophysiology and psychological aesthetics in the nineteenth century

Publications

Raumerfahrung und Augenbewegung in Kunsttheorie und psychologischer Ästhetik um 1900, in: Ikonische Formprozesse, eds. Franz Engel/Marion Lauschke/Johanna Schiffler, Actus et Imago Vol. 20, Berlin 2016 (in preparation).

Die Kraft der Trugbilder. Formprozess und poetologisches Motiv bei Victor Hugo, in: Bilder-Texte-Bewegungen: Interdisziplinäre Perspektiven auf Visualität, eds. Sandra Hettmann/Berit Callsen/Yolanda Melgar Pernías, Würzburg 2016, pp. 77–94.

Metamorphosen am Himmel. Victor Hugo und Lukrez, in: Ulrike Feist/Markus Rath: Et in imagine ego. Facetten von Bildakt und Verkörperung, Akademie Verlag, Berlin 2012, pp. 139–153.

Das Sehen im Bild/ Le voir dans l’image, in: Lukas Hoffmann. vingt-six photographies, Beaux-Arts de Paris, les éditions, Paris 2011, pp. 7–13.

Contact

Johanna Schiffler

Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-838-908559

johanna.schiffler@fu-berlin.de

Homepage am KHI

Johanna Schiffler

 

Johanna Schiffler, M.A.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Forschungsprojekt

Landschaftsmalerei um 1900

 

Um 1900 erschaffen Künstler wie Ferdinand Hodler, Adolph Hölzel, Gustav Klimt, Piet Mondrian und Felix Valloton Bilder, die den Raum der Landschaft nicht mehr zentralperspektivisch sondern dekorativ als ornamentales und rhythmisches Zusammenspiel von Farb- und Formelementen in der Bildfläche organisieren. Das Promotionsvorhaben widmet sich der Landschaftsmalerei um die Jahrhundertwende, um erstmals die verschiedenen Verfahren der dekorativen Formalisierung, die von der Forschung bisher besonders in der Perspektive einer Entwicklung von autoreflexiver Sinnproduktion der abstrakten Malerei der Moderne in den Blick genommen wurden, in ihrer vermittelnden Funktion in Bezug auf die dynamisch und subjektiv erfahrene Wahrnehmung der Landschaft zu erforschen und damit auch in Bezug auf ihre bild- und kulturgeschichtlichen Kontexte, sowie den wahrnehmungstheoretischen Diskurs der Zeit.

Vita

Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Neueren deutschen Literatur an der Universität Hamburg, der EHESS in Paris und an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. 2009/10 Praktikum am Deutschen Forum für Kunstgeschichte in Paris. 2013 Magisterabschluss mit einer Arbeit zu den Zeichnungen Victor Hugos im Kontext seiner Rezeption der antiken Bildtheorie und Naturphilosophie des Lukrez. 2011–2013 wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft und Stipendiatin der Kolleg-Forschergruppe „Bildakt und Verkörperung“ der Humboldt-Universität. 2013–2015 Mitglied im Forschungsprojekt „Ikonische Formprozesse“ am Institut für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte der Humboldt-Universität. 2014–2016 Stipendiatin des Exzellenzcluster „Bild Wissen Gestaltung“ der Humboldt-Universität. 2015/16 Lehrauftrag der Technischen Universität Berlin. Seit Juli 2016 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Kolleg-Forschergruppe „BildEvidenz“. Im Herbst 2016 Forschungsaufenthalt am Institute of Fine Arts der New York University.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Malerei und Grafik des 19. Jahrhunderts und Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts
  • Gattungsgeschichte der Landschaft
  • Theoriegeschichte der Wahrnehmung, besonders Psychophysiologie und psychologische Ästhetik des 19. Jahrhunderts

Publikationen

Raumerfahrung und Augenbewegung in Kunsttheorie und psychologischer Ästhetik um 1900, in: Ikonische Formprozesse, hg. v. Franz Engel/Marion Lauschke/Johanna Schiffler, Actus et Imago Bd. 20, Berlin 2016 (in Vorbereitung).

Die Kraft der Trugbilder. Formprozess und poetologisches Motiv bei Victor Hugo, in: Bilder-Texte-Bewegungen: Interdisziplinäre Perspektiven auf Visualität, hg. v. Sandra Hettmann/Berit Callsen/Yolanda Melgar Pernías, Würzburg 2016, S. 77-94.

Metamorphosen am Himmel. Victor Hugo und Lukrez, in: Ulrike Feist/Markus Rath: Et in imagine ego. Facetten von Bildakt und Verkörperung, Akademie Verlag, Berlin 2012, S. 139-153.

Das Sehen im Bild“/ „Le voir dans l’image, in: Lukas Hoffmann. vingt-six photographies, Beaux-Arts de Paris, les éditions, Paris 2011, S. 7-13.

Kontakt

Johanna Schiffler

Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-838-908559

johanna.schiffler@fu-berlin.de

Homepage am KHI