Anja Rathmann-Lutz

 

Anja Rathmann-Lutz

Senior Research Fellow am Departement Geschichte der Universität Basel

In Residence

March – May 2018

Research Project

“Microcosm Model” – On Mediality, Materiality and Epistemological Quality of Architectural Model, Founder Miniature and Reconstruction

In her artwork “I Am Monument”, the Chinese artist and product designer Li Naihan reduces the headquarters of the United States Department of Defense to the size of a double bed, triggering a reflection on dimensions, materiality, and symbolism of the original, which is decisively influenced by the medial quality of the miniature and its creation process. Such negotiation processes about prevalence and interpretation – reflected in the interaction between microstructure and macrostructure – are a trans-epochal and transregional phenomenon. The overall project therefore focuses on the material, medial, semiotic, functional and epistemological dimensions of three-dimensional (architectural) models in a diachronic and global perspective.
All models – whether votive offer in the form of a house model, miniature church in the arm of the founder, cupola roof on the master builder’s table, reconstructions of ancient buildings at court, replica of a city in museums or CAD animations in virtual space – have many (explanatory, interpretive manipulating or updating) effects on their authors and recipients as well as on their real and imagined references. In turn, they each stand in functional contexts and communication contexts that influence their dimensions and materiality just as much as they predetermine the ever-changing framework for their interpretation. Thus models can be tools of understanding, a place of cognition as well as a store of knowledge.
During my research in Berlin I will work on a first portion: the role of models in early modern Cabinets of Curiosities and courtly, scientific and museum collections of the 18th and 19th centuries, beginning with the example of the phelloplastic around 1800. In the wood and cork models courtly and bourgeois collections premodern and modern ideas of the world, political and cultural claims to prevalence as well as scientific and artistic reception and (re)construction of antiquity are superimposed.

Research Interests

  • Premodern Temporalities, Relations of Time and Space
  • Urban History
  • Visibility and Representation, Political Iconography
  • Perception and Concepts of Change
  • History oft the Historiography on Renaissances

Publications

… vide infra, … vide supra. Flipping Through the Times in the Rudimentum Novitiorum (1475) in: Temporality and Mediality in Late Medieval and Early Modern Culture, hg. v. Christian Kiening und Martina Stercken (Cursor mundi 32), Turnhout 2018 (in print)

Ordnen und Verstehen – Die Zeichnungen des Villard de Honnecourt in einem diagrammatischen Denkmodell, in: Diagramme im Gebrauch, gem. hg. m. Christina Lechtermann und Henrike Haug, Berlin 2017 (= Das Mittelalter 22/2), S. 377–391

On Time and Space in a 12th-Century Augustinian Priory (Marbach, Alsace), in: Critical Imprints V (2017), S. 1–22

ZeitenWelten. Zur Verschränkung von Zeitwahrnehmung und Weltdeutung (750­–1350), gem. hg. m. Miriam Czock, Köln 2016

Par tous les sens/Mit allen Sinnen, gem. hg. m. Ulrike Krampl, Jan-Friedrich Missfelder, und Aline Steinbrecher Zürich 2015 (= traverse 22/2)

Public Relations. Eyewitnesses in 14th century French Royal Manuscripts, in: Distinct Gazes. The Invention of the Audience, hg. v. Beate Fricke und Urte Krass (Bilder-Diskurs), Zürich 2015, S. 189–203

Liturgische Räume zwischen Stadt und Konzil, in: Music and Culture in the Age of the Council of Basel, hg. v. Matteo Nanni (Epitome Musical ), Turnhout 2014, S. 285–301.

Visibilität des Unsichtbaren. Sehen und Verstehen in Mittelalter und Früher Neuzeit, Zürich 2011 (Hg.)

Images Ludwigs des Heiligen im Kontext dynastischer Konflikte des 14. und 15. Jahrhunderts, Berlin 2010

 

Contact

Anja Rathmann-Lutz

Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Room
Tel.: +49(0)30-838-

Anja.Lutz@unibas.ch

Website University Basel

Anja Rathmann-Lutz

 

Anja Rathmann-Lutz

Senior Research Fellow am Departement Geschichte der Universität Basel

Aufenthalt

März 2018 – Mai 2018

Forschungsprojekt

«Mikrokosmos Modell» – Zu Medialität, Materialität und epistemologischer Qualität von Architekturmodell, Stifterminiatur und Rekonstruktion

In ihrer Serie «I Am Monument» reduziert die chinesische Künstlerin und Produktdesignerin Li Naihan das US-Verteidigungsministerium auf die Größe eines Doppelbetts und stößt damit einen Reflexionsprozess über Dimensionen, Materialität und Symbolkraft des Originals an, der durch die mediale Verfasstheit der Miniatur und ihren Entstehungsprozess entscheidend beeinflusst wird. Derartige Aushandlungsprozesse über Geltung und (Be-)Deutung, die sich in der Interaktion zwischen Mikro- und Makrostruktur zeigen, sind ein transepochales und transregionales Phänomen. Das Gesamtprojekt fokussiert daher die materiellen, medialen, semiotischen, funktionalen und epistemologischen Dimensionen dreidimensionaler (Architektur-)Modelle in einer diachronen, global vergleichenden Perspektive.

Alle Modelle – ob Votivgabe in Form eines Hausmodells, Miniaturkirche im Arm des Stifters, Kuppelmodell auf dem Tisch des Baumeisters, Rekonstruktionen antiker Bauten im höfischen Kontext, stofflich multipler Nachbau einer Stadtanlage in Museen oder CAD-Animationen im virtuellen Raum wirken vielfältig – erklärend, deutend, manipulierend oder aktualisierend – auf ihre Urheber und Rezipienten wie auf die realen und imaginierten Verweisstrukturen. Umgekehrt stehen sie jeweils in Funktionszusammenhängen und Kommunikationsgefügen, die ihre Dimensionen und Materialität ebenso beeinflussen wie sie den sich ständig verändernden Rahmen für ihre (Be-)Deu­tungen vorgeben. Sie können Werkzeug des Verstehens, Ort der Erkenntnis wie auch Speicher von Wissen sein.

Meinen Berliner Forschungsaufenthalt möchte ich nutzen, um einen ersten Teilaspekt zu erarbeiten: die Rolle von Modellen in frühneuzeitlichen Wunderkammern, höfischen, wissenschaftlichen und musealen Sammlungen des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts, zunächst am Beispiel der Phelloplastik um 1800. In den Holz- und Korkmodellen höfischer und bürgerlicher Sammlungen überlagern sich frühneuzeitliche und moderne Weltvorstellungen, politische und kulturelle Geltungsansprüche sowie wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Antikenrezeption und (-re)konstruktion.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

      • Vormoderne Zeitlichkeit, Raum-Zeit-Verhältnisse
      • Stadtgeschichte
      • Visibilität und Repräsentation, politische Ikonographie
      • Wahrnehmung und Konzeptionen von Wandel
      • Historiographiegeschichte der Renaissancen

Publikationen

… vide infra, … vide supra. Flipping Through the Times in the Rudimentum Novitiorum (1475) in: Temporality and Mediality in Late Medieval and Early Modern Culture, hg. v. Christian Kiening und Martina Stercken (Cursor mundi 32), Turnhout 2018 (im Druck)

Ordnen und Verstehen – Die Zeichnungen des Villard de Honnecourt in einem diagrammatischen Denkmodell, in: Diagramme im Gebrauch, gem. hg. m. Christina Lechtermann und Henrike Haug, Berlin 2017 (= Das Mittelalter 22/2), S. 377–391

On Time and Space in a 12th-Century Augustinian Priory (Marbach, Alsace), in: Critical Imprints V (2017), S. 1–22

ZeitenWelten. Zur Verschränkung von Zeitwahrnehmung und Weltdeutung (750­–1350), gem. hg. m. Miriam Czock, Köln 2016

Par tous les sens/Mit allen Sinnen, gem. hg. m. Ulrike Krampl, Jan-Friedrich Missfelder, und Aline Steinbrecher Zürich 2015 (= traverse 22/2)

Public Relations. Eyewitnesses in 14th century French Royal Manuscripts, in: Distinct Gazes. The Invention of the Audience, hg. v. Beate Fricke und Urte Krass (Bilder-Diskurs), Zürich 2015, S. 189–203

Liturgische Räume zwischen Stadt und Konzil, in: Music and Culture in the Age of the Council of Basel, hg. v. Matteo Nanni (Epitome Musical ), Turnhout 2014, S. 285–301.

Visibilität des Unsichtbaren. Sehen und Verstehen in Mittelalter und Früher Neuzeit, Zürich 2011 (Hg.)

Images Ludwigs des Heiligen im Kontext dynastischer Konflikte des 14. und 15. Jahrhunderts, Berlin 2010

 

 

 

 

Kontakt

Anja Rathmann-Lutz

Kolleg-Forschergruppe BildEvidenz

Arnimallee 10
14195 Berlin

Zimmer
Tel.: +49(0)30-838-

Anja.Lutz@unibas.ch

Homepage Uni Basel